League of California Cities
Home > News > Press Releases > 2018 > League of California Cities® Announces New Board Officers and Directors
News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (916) 658-8228
Sep. 17, 2018


League of California Cities® Announces New Board Officers and Directors

Grass Valley Council Member Jan Arbuckle Elected League of California Cities President

SACRAMENTO — The League of California Cities® announced its 2018–19 leadership and board of directors on Friday, Sept. 14, during the League’s Annual Conference & Expo in Long Beach.
The board elected Grass Valley Council Member Jan Arbuckle to serve as president, Murrieta Council Member Randon Lane to serve as first vice president and Yountville Mayor John Dunbar as second vice president. South San Francisco Council Member Rich Garbarino, who served as the 2017–18 president, became immediate past president.
The Grass Valley City Council appointed Jan Arbuckle to fill a vacant seat on the council in 2007 after she served two terms on the Nevada County Grand Jury. In 2008, voters elected her to her first four-year term on the Grass Valley City Council, re-electing her in 2012 and 2016. The council selected her as vice mayor in 2008, and as mayor in 2010, a position she held for two years.
President Arbuckle has served the League in various leadership capacities during her tenure on the Grass Valley City Council. She was president of the Women’s Caucus, co-chair of the League-California State Association of Counties Joint Homelessness Task Force and served as Sacramento Valley Division president twice. In addition, President Arbuckle was the first woman to chair the League’s Public Safety Policy Committee and served as chair of the League’s former Administrative Services Policy Committee.
Under the League’s bylaws, officers are elected to serve a one-year term with the outgoing president becoming immediate past president. Along with the League Executive Director Carolyn Coleman, the four officers comprise the League’s executive committee.
The board also elected six at-large directors who will serve a two-year term. These directors are:
  • Denise Athas, council member, Novato;
  • Allan Bernstein, council member, Tustin;
  • JoAnne Mounce, mayor pro tem, Lodi;
  • Ali Sajjad Taj, council member, Artesia;
  • Jess Talamantes, council member, Burbank;
  • Lee Thomas, council member, San Leandro; and
  • Jesse Loren, council member, Winters (joins the board for one year to fill an at-large vacancy).
The 2018–19 League full board of directors comprises:
  • President Jan Arbuckle, council member, Grass Valley; 
  • First Vice President Randon Lane, council member, Murrieta;
  • Second Vice President John Dunbar, mayor, Yountville; and
  • Immediate Past President Rich Garbarino, council member, South San Francisco.
  • Stephany Aguilar, council member, Scotts Valley — Monterey Division;
  • Denise Athas, council member, Novato — At-large;
  • Al Austin, council member, Long Beach — Large City Alternate;
  • Melanie Bagby, council member, Cloverdale — Mayors and Council Members Department;
  • Michele Beal Bagneris, city attorney/city prosecutor, Pasadena — At-large;
  • Allan Bernstein, council member, Tustin — At-large;
  • Patrick Bouteller, director of government relations, San Diego — Large City Alternate;
  • Randy Breault, director of public works, Brisbane — Public Works Department;
  • Joe Buscaino, council member, Los Angeles — Large City Alternate and NLC Board;
  • Magdelena Carrasco, vice mayor, San Jose — Large City Alternate;
  • Ross Chun, mayor pro tem, Aliso Viejo — Orange County Division;
  • Tony Dahlerbruch, city manager, Palos Verdes Estates – City Managers Department;
  • Dan DeSmidt, police chief, Belmont Police — Police Chiefs Department;
  • Pippin Dew-Costa, council member, Vallejo — North Bay Division;
  • Karen Goh, mayor, Bakersfield — Large City;
  • Eric Guerra, council member, Sacramento — Large City Alternate;
  • George Harris, deputy city manager/treasurer, Victorville — Personnel & Employee Relations Department;
  • Steve Hofbauer, council member, Palmdale — Desert Mountain Division;
  • Randi Johl, director of legislative affairs/city clerk, Temecula — City Clerks Department;
  • Dan Kalb, council member, Oakland — Large City Alternate;
  • Kirsten Keith, council member, Menlo Park – Peninsula Division;
  • Jesse Loren, council member, Winters — At-large;
  • Michelle Marchetta Kenyon, city attorney, cities of Calistoga, Pacifica, Piedmont and Rohnert Park and Town of Moraga — City Attorneys Department;
  • Clint Lorimore, mayor, Eastvale — Riverside County Division;
  • L. Dennis Michael, mayor, Rancho Cucamonga — At-large;
  • Leyne Milstein, assistant city manager, Sacramento — Fiscal Officers Department;
  • John Minto, mayor, Santee — San Diego County Division;
  • Mishal Montgomery, mayor’s chief of staff, Anaheim — Large City Alternate;
  • Richard Montgomery, council member, Manhattan Beach — NLC Board;
  • Jorge Morales, vice mayor, South Gate — Los Angeles County Division;
  • JoAnne Mounce, mayor pro tem, Lodi — At-large;
  • Lou Muñoz, planning commissioner, Rancho Cucamonga — Planning & Community Development Department;
  • Eric Nickel, fire chief, Pal Alto — Fire Chiefs Department;
  • Daniel Parra, mayor pro tem, Fowler — South San Joaquin Division;
  • Ana Maria Quintana, vice mayor, Bell — At-large;
  • Fred Shaw, mayor, Carpinteria — Channel Counties Division;
  • Cindy Silva, mayor pro tem, Walnut Creek — At-large;
  • Sam Spagnolo, council member, Rancho Cucamonga — Inland Empire Division;
  • Randall Stone, council member, Chico — Sacramento Valley Division;
  • Ali Sajjad Taj, council member, Artesia — At-large;
  • Jess Talamantes, council member, Burbank — At-large;
  • Lee Thomas, council member, San Leandro — At-large;
  • Jerry Thorne, mayor, Pleasanton — East Bay Division;
  • Mireya Turner, mayor, Lakeport — Redwood Empire Division;
  • Cheryl Viegas-Walker, mayor, El Centro — Imperial County Division;
  • Alan Wapner, mayor pro tem, Ontario — At-large; and
  • Jeramy Young, mayor, Hughson — Central Valley Division.

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials.
© League of California Cities