League of California Cities
Home > News > Press Releases > 2017 > League of California Cities® Announces New Board Officers and Directors
News Feed
Eva Spiegel, (916) 658-8228; Cell: (530) 400-9068
Sep. 15, 2017


League of California Cities® Announces New Board Officers and Directors

South San Francisco Council Member Rich Garbarino Elected League of California Cities President

SACRAMENTO — The League of California Cities® announced its 2017-18 leadership and board of directors today during the League’s 119th Annual Conference & Expo in Sacramento.
The board elected South San Francisco Council Member Rich Garbarino to serve as its president, San Diego City Council Member Mark Kersey to serve as first vice president and Grass Valley Council Member Jan Arbuckle as second vice president. Lodi Council Member JoAnne Mounce, who served as the 2016-17 president, became immediate past president.
Garbarino was elected to his first year term on the South San Francisco City Council in 2003 after being appointed to fill a vacancy on the council in December 2002. He was re-elected in 2007, 2011 and 2015, with his current term expiring in 2019. Garbarino has been active with the League for many years through the Peninsula Division and the Public Safety Policy Committee. Locally he worked on the passage of Measure W to fund city services and infrastructure improvements, as well as served as chair of several Association of Bay Area of Governments committees and the Local Agency Formation Committee.
Under the League’s bylaws, officers are elected to serve a one-year term with the outgoing president becoming immediate past president. The four comprise the League’s executive committee.
The board also elected six at-large directors who will serve a two-year term. These directors are:
  • Michele Beal Bagneris, city attorney/city prosecutor, Pasadena;
  • Randon Lane, council member, Murrieta;
  • L. Dennis Michael, mayor, Rancho Cucamonga;
  • Ana Maria Quintana, council member, Bell;
  • Cindy Silva, council member, Walnut Creek; and
  • Alan Wapner, mayor pro tem, Ontario. 
In addition, the board elected Apple Valley Council Member Barb Stanton to fill the second year of Arbuckle’s two-year at large director position.
The League full board of directors includes:
  • President Rich Garbarino, council member, South San Francisco; 
  • First Vice President Mark Kersey, council member, San Diego;
  • Second Vice President Jan Arbuckle, council member, Grass Valley; and
  • Immediate Past President JoAnne Mounce, council member, Lodi. 
  • Stephany Aguilar, council member, Scotts Valley;
  • Rachelle Arizmendi, mayor, Sierra Madre;
  • Al Austin, council member, Long Beach;
  • Michele Beal Bagneris, city attorney/city prosecutor, Pasadena;
  • Patrick Bouteller, director of government relations, San Diego;
  • Randy Breault, director of public works, Brisbane;
  • Joe Buscaino, council member, Los Angeles;
  • Magdelena Carrasco, vice mayor, San Jose;
  • Christopher Cate, council member, San Diego;
  • Tony Dahlerbruch, city manager, Palos Verdes;
  • Laurie Davies, council member, Laguna Niguel;
  • Dan DeSmidt, police chief, Belmont Police;
  • John Dunbar, mayor, Yountville;
  • Jason Elliott, mayor’s chief of staff, San Francisco;
  • Robert Espinosa, fire chief, Manhattan Beach;
  • Karen Goh, mayor, Bakersfield;
  • Eric Guerra, council member, Sacramento;
  • Curtis Hunt, council member, Vacaville;
  • Randi Johl, city clerk, Temecula;
  • Dan Kalb, council member, Oakland;
  • Kirsten Keith, mayor, Menlo Park;
  • Michelle Marchetta Kenyon, city attorney, cities of Calistoga, Pacifica, Piedmont and Rohnert Park and Town of Moraga;
  • Ken Lane, council member, Ceres;
  • Randon Lane, council member, Murrieta;
  • Clint Lorimore, mayor pro tem, Eastvale;
  • Steve Manos, council member, Lake Elsinore;
  • Lee Ann McPhillips, director of human resources, Gilroy;
  • Leyne Milstein, director of finance, Sacramento;
  • John Minto, mayor, Santee;
  • Mishal Montgomery, mayor’s chief of staff, Anaheim;
  • Jorge Morales, council member, South Gate;
  • Lou Muñoz, planning commissioner, Rancho Cucamonga;
  • Scott Nassif, mayor, Apple Valley;
  • Clinton Olivier, council member, Fresno;
  • Joseph Palla, vice mayor, Cloverdale;
  • Daniel Parra, mayor pro tem, Fowler;
  • Ana Maria Quintana, council member, Bell;
  • Oscar Rios, mayor, Watsonville;
  • Bruce Roundy, vice mayor, Orland;
  • David Sander, council member, Rancho Cordova;
  • Fred Shaw, mayor, Carpinteria;
  • Cindy Silva, council member, Walnut Creek;
  • Sam Spagnolo, council member, Rancho Cucamonga;
  • Barb Stanton, council member, Apple Valley;
  • Ali Sajjad Taj, mayor, Artesia;
  • Jerry Thorne, mayor, Pleasanton;
  • Cheryl Viegas-Walker, mayor pro tem, El Centro; and
  • Alan Wapner, mayor pro tem, Ontario.

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials.
© League of California Cities