League of California Cities
Home > News > News Articles > 2018 > October > Corona Police Sergeant Unseats CalPERS Public Agency Board Representative Incumbent
News Feed

Corona Police Sergeant Unseats CalPERS Public Agency Board Representative Incumbent

October 5, 2018
Corona Police Sergeant Jason Perez has defeated four-time incumbent and current CalPERS Board of Administration President Priya Mathur. 
The election for the active public agency representative position was held Sept. 1–30. While the results are still preliminary pending formal certification by the California Secretary of State, Perez received 56.78 percent of the vote and Mathur received 43.22 percent.  
Voter turnout for this seat has historically been low. During the previous election cycle, there was only a 6.8 percent voter turnout. This election saw an uptick in voter turnout at 8.4 percent. Unlike the two at-large seats currently held by Margaret Brown and David Miller, the active public agency member seat represents CalPERS members employed by cities, counties and special districts.
Perez and other officers from the Corona Police Officers Association have been regular attendees at CalPERS board meetings. Perez has often joined his assistant city manager and vice mayor in urging CalPERS to abandon their pursuit of environmental and social investment programs and instead focus solely on maximizing investment returns to ensure that local agencies can retain employees and keep the commitments made to their employees.
Most notably Perez challenged former gubernatorial candidate and outgoing State Treasurer John Chiang, a CalPERS board member, when he urged his colleagues to approve a divestment policy that would force the fund to sell off all shares of nationwide retailers that sell semi-automatic weapons. According to Perez, it was this action that prompted him to run for the position.
Perez will begin serving his four-year term Nov. 1. Additionally, two other incumbents ran unopposed for two board seats up for re-election: Theresa Taylor, the state member representative; and Rob Feckner, the school member representative. The Secretary of State officially certified their election on June 8, 2018.

© League of California Cities