Home > News > News Articles > 2016 > March > Speaker Rendon Announces New Committee Chairs, Floor Leadership Team
News Feed

Speaker Rendon Announces New Committee Chairs, Floor Leadership Team

March 11, 2016
The busy week in the Capitol wrapped up on Thursday when Anthony Rendon, the newly sworn in Speaker, released changes to several of the Assembly’s policy committees as well as his floor leadership team.
The changes are effective immediately for the 2015-16 Regular Session.
These legislators will play a significant role in shaping legislation this session. An explanation of the legislative leadership roles and responsibilities is available on the Legislature’s website.
Speaker Rendon made changes to nearly all of the Assembly’s policy committees. Committee appointments of significance to legislation affecting California cities are listed below:
Accountability and Administrative Review
  • Assembly Member Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens), chair 
  • Assembly Member Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego), chair 
  • Assembly Member Phil Ting (D-San Francisco), chair
  • Assembly Member Jay Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake), vice chair 
Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety
  • Assembly Member Nora Campos (D-San Jose) 
Business and Professions
  • Assembly Member Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield), chair
  • Assembly Member Bill Brough (R-Dana Point), vice chair 
Governmental Organization
  • Assembly Member Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals), vice chair 
Labor and Employment
  • Assembly Member Jim Patterson (R-Fresno), vice chair 
Local Government
  • Assembly Member Susan Eggman (D-Stockton), chair
  • Assembly Member Marie Waldron (R-Escondido), vice chair 
Public Employees, Retirement, and Social Security
  • Assembly Member Rob Bonta (D-Alameda), chair 
Public Safety
  • Assembly Member Reginald Jones-Sawyer (D-Los Angeles), chair 
Revenue and Taxation
  • Assembly Member Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles), chair 
  • Assembly Member Eric Linder (R-Corona), vice chair 
Assembly Democratic leaders are:
  • Assembly Member Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco), speaker pro tempore
  • Assembly Member Autumn R. Burke (D-Inglewood), assistant speaker pro tempore
  • Assembly Member Ian C. Calderon (D-Whittier), majority floor leader
  • Assembly Member Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove), assistant majority floor leader
  • Assembly Member Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles), majority whip
  • Assembly Member Nora Campos (D-San Jose), Democratic whip
  • Assembly Member Evan Low (D-Campbell), assistant majority whip
  • Assembly Member Mike A. Gipson (D-Carson), Democratic Caucus chair

© League of California Cities