Home > News > News Articles > 2013 > January > Two League Employees Receive 2012 National League of Cities’ Stutz Award
News Feed

Two League Employees Receive 2012 National League of Cities’ Stutz Award

January 18, 2013

This week, during the League’s New Mayor’s and Council Members’ Academy two staff members, Yvonne Hunter and Kaye Brewer, were presented with the National League of Cities’ (NLC) 2012 Stutz Award.


The Stutz Award annually recognizes indiLeague President and Pasadena Mayor Bill Bogaard poses with Kaye Brewer and Yvonne Hunter after presenting them with Stutz awards during this week’s Mayors and Council Members Academy.viduals who have served 25 years or more with a state municipal league. The League commends both Yvonne and Kaye for their contributions and dedication to the League and all California cities.

Yvonne Hunter

Yvonne joined the League on March 14, 1983 and has served in various capacities during her 29 years. For nearly 20 years, Yvonne served as the League’s legislative advocate on environmental and community services issues as well as overseeing the League’s policy development process including its annual membership resolutions process.

She currently works with the League’s research arm, the Institute for Local Government (ILG), covering children’s health insurance and climate change issues. She codirects ILG’s Sustainable Communities Program and leads ILG’s initiative to help local agencies save energy and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, through ILG’s Beacon Award recognition program.

Kaye Brewer

Kaye joined the League on Jan. 12, 1987 and has served as a key member of the accounting team, managing the League’s accounts receivables. In her 26 years with the League, she has been instrumental in helping the League achieve its goal of a paperless accounting department and providing a high level of customer service to our members, partners, and vendors. Prior to joining the League of California Cities, she worked with two other statewide associations and for a private bookkeeping service.

© League of California Cities