Home > News > News Articles > 2012 > August > Deadline to Designate Your City’s Voting Delegate for the League’s Annual Business Meeting is Aug. 1
News Feed

Deadline to Designate Your City’s Voting Delegate for the League’s Annual Business Meeting is Aug. 15

August 8, 2012

The deadline for voting delegate forms for the League’s Annual Business Meeting at the League’s Annual Conference & Expo in San Diego is next Wednesday, Aug. 15.


If you’d like to vote at the Annual Business Meeting on Friday, Sept. 7, it’s time for your city council to appoint a voting delegate. Your city may also choose up to two alternate voting delegates, one of whom may vote in the event that the designated voting delegate is unable to serve in that capacity. 

A total of 261 of the more than 320 cities that have pre-registered for the conference have completed the voting delegate process. Five resolutions have been submitted for voting at this year’s meeting.

Each city must complete the official Voting Delegate form and return it to the League office no later than Wednesday, Aug. 15.  This will allow time to establish voting delegate/alternates’ records prior to the conference.  Please note the following procedures that are intended to ensure the integrity of the voting process at the Annual Business Meeting:

  • Action by Council Required. Consistent with League bylaws, a city’s voting delegate and up to two alternates must be designated by the city council. When completing the attached Voting Delegate form, please attach either a copy of the council resolution that reflects the council action taken, or have your city clerk or mayor sign the form affirming that the names provided are those selected by the city council.  Please note that designating the voting delegate and alternates must be done by city council action and cannot be accomplished by individual action of the mayor or city manager alone. 
  • Conference Registration Required (online registration closes on Aug. 13).
  • For more information, visit the League's website.

© League of California Cities