

February 4, 2021

Honorable Lena Gonzalez Chair, Senate Transportation Committee State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Honorable Laura Friedman Chair, Assembly Transportation Committee State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Gonzalez and Assembly Member Friedman:

Our coalition of labor, local government, business, transportation and public transit advocates would like to congratulate you on being selected as Chairs of your respective Transportation Committees. Individually and collectively, the members of our coalition – the Fix Our Roads Coalition – look forward to working closely with you to advance a transportation agenda that helps ensure a safe, reliable and accessible multimodal transportation system for all Californians.

As members of the Fix Our Roads Coalition, we all worked tirelessly for years along with leadership of both Houses of the Legislature, Governor Brown and then Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom to pass a historic transportation funding measure that has finally begun to address decades of neglect and underfunding for California transportation infrastructure. These efforts culminated in the passage of Senate Bill 1 (SB1) in 2017, which provides \$5 billion annually to invest in our state's multimodal transportation system, including to fix crumbling roads, make road and bridge safety repairs, alleviate traffic gridlock and congestion, improve bicycle and pedestrian access and safety, and to boost funding to both expand and operate public transit services for Californians.

SB 1 is the largest investment in multimodal transportation infrastructure in our state's history. This investment was ratified by California voters not once, but twice. In June of 2018, more than 81% of California voters overwhelmingly passed Proposition 69 - a Constitutional Amendment that dedicates SB 1 funds only for transportation improvements and prohibits the legislature from redirecting these funds for non-transportation purposes. And in November of 2018, California

voters strongly rejected Proposition 6 which would have repealed SB 1 fuel taxes and vehicle fees.

Voters have repeatedly and overwhelmingly supported spending transportation revenues for vital transportation improvements: fixing potholes and crumbling roads; maintaining local streets and retrofitting them to provide opportunities for active transportation; repairing state freeways and highways; making roads, bridges and overpasses safe; reducing traffic congestion; improving mobility for people and goods; and investing in mass transit and public transportation.

In the coming weeks we hope to schedule a meeting with you and the members of our coalition to discuss our collective priorities for the future of transportation in California. Again, congratulations on your appointment as Committee Chairs. We look forward to working with you to ensure California's transportation infrastructure meets the needs of its 40 million residents and our economy.

Sincerely,

Michael Quigley, Executive Director California Alliance for Jobs

Carolyn Coleman, Executive Director League of California Cities

Kiana Valentine, Executive Director **Transportation California**

Michael Pimentel, Executive Director California Transit Association

Peter Tateishi, CEO Associated General Contractors of California

Brad Diede, Executive Director American Council of Engineering Companies – California

Emily Cohen, Executive Vice President United Contractors

Stuart Waldman, President Valley Industry & Commerce Association

Russell W. Snyder, Executive Director California Asphalt Pavement Association

Maria S. Salinas, President & CEO Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce Graham Knaus, Executive Director California State Association of Counties

Jose Mejia, Director California State Council of Laborers

Bill Higgins, Executive Director California Association of Councils of Government

Tim Cremins, Director California-Nevada Conference of Operating Engineers

Bobby Alvarado, Executive Officer Northern California Regional Conference of Carpenters

John Hakel, Executive Director Rebuild SoCal Partnership

Robert Dugan, President & CEO California Construction & Industrial Materials Association

Lucy Dunn, President & CEO Orange County Business Council