

May 3, 2021

The Honorable Lena Gonzalez California State Senate State Capitol Building, Room 2068 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 342 (Gonzalez) South Coast Air Quality Management District: board membership. Notice to Oppose Unless Amended (As amended 4/22/2021)

Dear Senator Gonzalez:

On behalf of the Los Angeles County Division of the League of California Cities® (Division), representing 86 cities in the county, I write to express an Oppose Unless Amended position on your SB 342 which would add two additional voting members to the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, and the Speaker of the Assembly.

Current law already provides the Governor, Senate Committee on Rules, and the Speaker of the Assembly appointments on the SCAQMD governing board without restrictions on the Senate and Assembly appointments. The representation that SB 342 seeks to make can already be accomplished through this current appointment structure. As currently drafted, SB 342 would give the Legislature too many political appointments on a regional board that is meant to represent local interests of a four-county region.

Instead, we think that SB 342 would better serve the constituencies in smaller, less-represented, and environmentally compromised communities by adding two additional seats for Los Angeles County cities through the Los Angeles County City Selection Committee, which conducts public meetings in compliance with the Brown Act and remains accountable to voters. With a population of over 10 million people, adding more representation for Los Angeles County provides more proportionality to cities from the communities SB 342 seeks to represent.

The Division supports equity, good governance, and the highest ethical standards for all public officials. There is no evidence that the SCAQMD processes prohibit any of these values to warrant legislative intervention. Ultimately, our Democratic system is designed to allow constituencies to guide public policy though increased public engagement and the election process.

For these reasons, we respectfully oppose SB 347 unless amended. If you have any questions, please contact Kristine Guerrero at kguerrero@cacities.org.

Sincerely,

Blanca Pacheco President

Los Angeles County Division League of California Cities 2020-21 OFFICERS AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT
BLANCA PACHECO
DOWNEY

VICE PRESIDENT

JAMES BOZAJIAN

CALABASAS

SECRETARY/TREASURER

ANDREW CHOU

DIAMOND BAR

STATE LEAGUE DIRECTOR
ANA MARIA QUINTANA
BELL

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

JESS TALAMANTES

BURBANK

REGIONAL DIRECTORS

ARROYO VERDUGO JPA
DIANA MAHMUD
SOUTH PASADENA

GATEWAY CITIES COG
STEVE CROFT
LAKEWOOD

LAS VIRGENES-MALIBU COG
KAREN FARRER
MALIBU

SAN FERNANDO VALLEY COG MARSHA MCLEAN SANTA CLARITA

SAN GABRIEL VALLEY COG
MARGARET CLARK
ROSEMEAD

SOUTH BAY CITIES COG
BEA DIERINGER
ROLLING HILLS

WESTSIDE CITIES COG
SUE HIMMELRICH
SANTA MONICA

CITY OF LOS ANGELES

JOHN WICKHAM

LOS ANGELES

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

JENNIFER QUAN