League of California Cities

Desert Mountain

  • The Desert Mountain Division includes cities in Inyo, Kern, Los Angeles, Mono and San Bernardino counties, and provides members with the opportunity to exchange ideas and information and share the advantages of cooperative advocacy. 

    Apple Valley
    Big Bear Lake
    California City
    Mammoth Lakes
    Twentynine Palms
    Yucca Valley


    "Like" the division's facebook page to see timely news, legislative and event updates important to cities.

    The division is guided by an executive committee under the leadership of a division president. Elected city officials and professional city staff attend division meetings throughout the year to share what they are doing and advocate for their interests in Sacramento.
    Division members also participate in the development of League policy through representation on:
    • The League board of directors;
    • Policy committees;
    • The Annual Conference Resolution Committee; and
    • The Annual Conference Program Committee.

    2020-2021 Division Officers

    Randall Putz
    Council Member, City Big Bear Lake
    (909) 744-4073

    Vice President
    Jim Ellis 
    Council Member, City of Bishop

    Division Director
    Steve Hofbauer
    Mayor, City of Palmdale
    (661) 609-7456

    Past President
    Scott Nassif
    Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Apple Valley
    (760) 617-0941

    Division Secretary
    Erica Stephenson
    City Clerk, City Big Bear Lake
    909-866-5831 Ext 120

    Shannon Grove (R) 
    State Capitol, Room 305
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Phone: (916) 651-4016
    District office (760)228-3136

    Senator Scott Wilk (R) 21st District
    State Capitol, Room 4090
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Phone: (916) 651-4021
    District office (661)729-6232


    Franklin Bigelow (R) 5th District 
    State Capitol Room 4158
    Sacramento CA 95814

    (916) 319-2005

    Assembly Member Thurston "Smitty" Smith (R) 33rd District
    State Capitol Room 4116
    Sacramento CA 95814
    (916) 319-2933
    District office (760)244-5277

    Assemby Member Tom Lackey (R) 36th District
    State Capitol, Room 4009
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Phone: (916) 319-2036
    District Office (661) 267-7636

    Assembly Member Chad Mayes (I) 42nd District
    State Capitol, Room 3104
    Sacramento, CA 95814
    Phone: (916) 319-2042
    District Office 7(60)346-6342


  • Desert Mountain Division Upcoming Events for 2021

    Friday, February 19, 2021 Via Zoom 10am
    Friday, April 23, 2021 Via Zoom 10am
    Friday, June 18, 2021 Via Zoom
    Friday, August 20, 2021 TBD
    Wednesday September 22, 2021 Annual Conference joint Div Meeting 
    Friday November 19, 2021 -- Organizational Meeting/Chimbole Public Service Award Dinner

    or Laura Morales Regional Manager (909) 275-4110 or lmorales@cacities.org

© League of California Cities