League of California Cities

Planning & Community Development Department

  • Planning and Community Development Department Member Interest Form

    The Planning and Community Development Department needs members to volunteer for various committee assignments throughout the year. If you are interested in serving on a committee and would like to be contacted as opportunities arise, please fill out this form.

    Becoming an active member will help the Planning and Community Development Department have a greater impact on shaping state level policy affecting cities, help develop best practices for the public work profession, and ensure the effective leadership in cities.

    Department Releases Informational Brochure

    Do you want to know more about what the Department does? Are you wondering who is running the Department these days? Well, you're in luck! The Planning and Community Development Department recently released a new informational brochure on department activities. You can download a copy of the brochure here.

  • 2020-2021 Department Executive Officers

    President - Joel Rojas, Development Services Director, San Juan Capistrano 
    1st Vice President - Debbie Chamberlain, Community Development Director, San Ramon
    2nd Vice President - Recruiting
    Department Director* - Eric Nelson, Planning Commissioner, Dana Point
    Immediate Past President Ernie Schmidt, Planning Commissioner, Redwood City

    *Department Director serves for a two-year term, beginning in even years.

    Policy Committees

    Appointed by the department president, each department has at least one representative on each of Cal Cities eight standing  committees that can provide technical information to the committee as a whole to ensure that the department has a voice in the decision-making process, and make recommendations to the board of directors on legislative and policy issues.

    Visit Cal Cities' Policy Development webpage to view upcoming meeting information, listed committees, and meeting agendas.


    2020 Policy Committee Representatives 

    Community Services – Michael Smith, Senior Planner, Rancho Cucamonga
    Environmental Quality – Joel Rojas, Director of Development services, San Juan Capistrano
    Governance, Transparency and Labor Relations – Paul Morris, Planning Commissioner, San Pablo
    Housing, Community & Economic Development – Debbie Chamberlain, Planning Manager, San Ramon
    Public Safety –  Ernest Schmidt, Planning Commissioner, Redwood City
    Revenue & Taxation – Niroop Srivatsa, Planning and Building Services Director, Lafayette
    Transportation, Communication & Public Works – Omar Dadabhoy, Planning Services Director, Aliso Viejo

    For more information about the appointment process, please contact Meg Desmond.

  • 2019 Planners Department Conference Call Schedule

    All calls are scheduled on the second Wednesday of the month at 3 p.m. on conference line (916) 658-8212. Agendas will be posted as available. Please contact Brandon Black at (916) 658-8204 or bblack@cacities.org if you would like to join the monthly department conference call.


© League of California Cities