News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (916) 658-8228; Cell: (530) 400-9068
Oct. 2, 2015


Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael Elected League of California Cities® President

SAN JOSÉ — The League of California Cities® announces the election of Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael as its incoming 2015-16 president. Mayor Michael was installed on Oct. 2 during the League’s 117th Annual Conference & Expo in San José and will now lead the organization for the coming year.  
Elected as League second vice president in 2014, he advanced to the office of first vice president later that year, prior to being elected president. During its meeting this week, the League board of directors also elected Lodi Council Member JoAnne Mounce as first vice president and Palos Verdes Estates Mayor James Goodhart as second vice president.
"The League is the collective voice of California’s hometowns. It is a privilege to serve as president of an organization with more than 100 years of history protecting and strengthening local control and educating the thousands of city officials who are responsible for delivering quality services to their communities. I am honored to work on behalf of our members on crucial issues facing California cities including infrastructure funding, economic development, affordable housing, pension and other post-employment benefit costs and public safety,” remarked President Michael upon his election.
Mayor Michael began his career as a firefighter with Rancho Cucamonga Fire District in April 1976, promoting through the ranks as engineer, captain, battalion chief, and division chief. In 1984, he was appointed fire chief, a position he held until he retired in 2003. During his career, Michael led the development of the Rancho Cucamonga Fire Protection District, as well as guided the organization through the growth and development of a small town into a city of nearly 160,000 residents. Upon retirement, he won his seat on the Rancho Cucamonga City Council in November 2004 and ran for mayor in 2010.  
The mayor is actively involved in a number of regional and state boards and committees. He was recently elected president of the San Bernardino County Associated Government’s (SANBAG) and is a member of SANBAG's General Policy, Metro Valley and Commuter Rail/Transit committees. 
Mayor Michael has served on the League of California Cities board of directors since 2010 and is the past president of the League’s Inland Empire Division. He received the prestigious Thalman Award in 2013 in recognition of his dedication to advancing the principles of local government.

League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Michael on his new presidential role for the League of California Cities. “Dennis brings a long professional history in public service to his League presidency and a commitment to helping shape policies that strengthen California cities. His expertise as a fire fighter and emergency responder will be instrumental as California communities deal with the great challenges brought by the drought and the predicted historic El Nino weather pattern this winter.”
Founded in 1898, the League of California Cities is an association of California city officials who work together to enhance their knowledge and skills, exchange information, and combine resources so that they may influence policy decisions that affect cities. The League’s mission is to restore and protect local control for cities through education and advocacy to enhance the quality of life for all Californians.

© League of California Cities