News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (916) 658-8228; Cell: (530) 400-9068
Oct. 2, 2015


League of California Cities® Announces New Board Officers

Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael Elected League of California Cities President

SAN JOSÉ — The League of California Cities® introduced the newly-elected 2015–16 board of directors’ executive committee today during the League’s 117th Annual Conference & Expo in San José.  
Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael assumes the role of League President, replacing Scotts Valley Council Member Stephany Aguilar, who has held the position for the past year. Lodi Council Member JoAnne Mounce was elected first vice president and Palos Verdes Estates Mayor James Goodhart now joins the officers as second vice president.
Under the League’s bylaws officers serve a one-year term with the outgoing president, Council Member Aguilar becoming immediate past president and participating as an active member of the League’s executive committee. Mayor Michael advances to his current position after serving the past year as the first vice president and Council Member Mounce becomes first vice president after serving her past term of second vice president.
L. Dennis Michael began his career as a firefighter with Rancho Cucamonga Fire District in April 1976, promoting through the ranks as Engineer, Captain, Battalion Chief, and Division Chief. In 1984, he was appointed fire chief, a positon he held until he retired in 2003. During his career, Mayor Michael led the development of the Rancho Cucamonga Fire Protection District, as well as guided the organization through the growth and development of a small town into a city of nearly 160,000 residents. Upon retirement, he won his seat on the Rancho Cucamonga City Council in November 2004 and ran for mayor in 2010.  
He is actively involved in a number of regional and state boards and committees. In addition, Mayor Michael was recently elected president of San Bernardino County Associated Government (SANBAG) and is a member of SANBAG's General Policy, Metro Valley and Commuter Rail/Transit committees. 
Since 2010, Mayor Michael has served on the League of California Cities board of directors and is the past president of the League’s Inland Empire Division. He received the prestigious Thalman Award in 2013 in recognition of his dedication to advancing the principles of local government.
League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Michael on his appointment as League of California Cities president. “Dennis brings a long professional history in public service to his League presidency and a commitment to helping shape policies that strengthen California cities. His expertise as a fire fighter and emergency responder will be instrumental as California communities deal with the great challenges brought by the drought and the predicted historic El Nino weather pattern this winter.”  
McKenzie also recognized the dedicated service of Aguilar as League president. “We have had an outstanding president in Stephany Aguilar. She has brought incredible integrity and a wealth of experience to the office and has had a strong presence throughout California in the League’s regional divisions. I congratulate Stephany on all that she has helped our organization accomplish this year.”
Outgoing League President and Scotts Valley Council Member congratulated Mayor Michael on his new role of president saying, “Dennis cares deeply about California cities and working on behalf of our member cities to ensure that the city voice is heard in Sacramento and Washington, DC. I leave the League presidency in good hands and look forward to the work Dennis will do in the upcoming year on behalf of our League.”
Founded in 1898, the League of California Cities is an association of California city officials who work together to enhance their knowledge and skills, exchange information, and combine resources so that they may influence policy decisions that affect cities. The League’s mission is to restore and protect local control for cities through education and advocacy to enhance the quality of life for all Californians.

© League of California Cities