News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (530) 400-9068
Sep. 5, 2014


Rancho Cucamonga Mayor Dennis Michael Elected League of California Cities Second Vice President

LOS ANGELES — The League of California Cities elected Rancho Cucamonga Mayor Dennis Michael as its incoming 2014-15 second vice president. Mayor Michael was installed on Sept. 5 during the League’s 116th Annual Conference & Expo in Los Angeles and will advance to the office of first vice president in September 2015.  
Mayor Michael serves as second vice president for a one-year term before advancing to first vice president in September 2015. During its meeting this week, the League board of directors also elected Arroyo Grande Mayor Tony Ferrara as 2014-15 president and Scotts Valley Council Member Stephany Aguilar as first vice president.
“I look forward to serving as the League’s second vice president. It’s important for city officials to actively participate in the statewide decisions concerning the complex local and statewide issues facing cities and our state today. The League is engaged in building partnerships with state and local leaders and creating tools and resources for economic recovery and job growth, which is crucial to the ability of cities to deliver vital services to our residents,” remarked Mayor Michael.
Mayor Michael began his career as a firefighter with Rancho Cucamonga Fire District in April 1976, promoting through the ranks as Engineer, Captain, Battalion Chief, and Division Chief. In 1984, he was appointed fire chief, a positon he held until he retired in 2003. During his career, Michael led the development of the Rancho Cucamonga Fire Protection District, as well as guided the organization through the growth and development of a small town into a city of nearly 160,000 residents. Upon retirement, Dennis won his seat on the Rancho Cucamonga City Council in November 2004 and ran for mayor in 2010.  
He is actively involved in a number of regional and state boards and committees. Dennis has been recently elected president of the San Bernardino County Associated Government’s (SANBAG) and is a member of SANBAG's General Policy, Metro Valley and Commuter Rail/Transit committees. 
Dennis has served on the League of California Cities board of directors since 2010 and is the past president of the League’s Inland Empire Division. He received the prestigious Thalman Award in 2013 in recognition of his dedication to advancing the principles of local government.

League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Michael on becoming second vice president for the League of California Cities. “Dennis has been actively involved with the League and its priorities for several years. As an elected official with a background in the fire service, he is no stranger to the importance of protecting services and funding. Building and fostering relationships between state and local officials will continue to be a priority, and Dennis will be instrumental in this process.” 

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials.
© League of California Cities