News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (530) 400-9068
Sep. 5, 2014


Arroyo Grande Mayor Tony Ferrara Elected League of California Cities President

League of California Cities Announces New Board Officers

LOS ANGELES — The League of California Cities introduced the newly-elected 2014–15 board of directors’ executive committee today during the League’s 116th Annual Conference & Expo in Los Angeles.  
Arroyo Grande Mayor Tony Ferrara takes the role of League President, replacing San Francisco Treasurer José Cisneros, who has held the position for the past year. Scotts Valley Council Member Stephany Aguilar was elected first vice president and Rancho Cucamonga Mayor Dennis Michael now joins the officers as second vice president.
Under the League’s bylaws officers serve a one-year term with the outgoing president, Cisneros, becoming immediate past president and participating as an active member of the League’s executive committee.
Following League Board Policy, second vice president and Stockton Council Member Katherine Miller would have been elected first vice president, but she announced in June that she would not seek election because she had been elected as a member of the San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors. Following the League Bylaws and Board Policy in this unique situation, the League board elected Council Member Aguilar for the first vice president position.
First elected to the Arroyo Grande City Council in 1998, Ferrara has been elected mayor six times since 2002. He joined the League board of directors in 2007 and has a long history of involvement with the organization. Ferrara is a member of the League’s Public Safety Policy Committee and previously served as chair of that committee. In addition, Mayor Ferrara has served as president of both the League’s Channel Counties Division and Mayors and Council Members Department.
Ferrara spent 42 years in law enforcement and emergency management training and planning at the both county and state levels and served for 12 years as a military policeman and helicopter pilot in the Army National Guard. Engaged locally, he sits on the San Luis Obispo Council of Governments board of directors as well as well as the South San Luis Obispo County Sanitation District. He is an active volunteer with Arroyo Grande in Bloom, a private, nonprofit beautification organization, and was recently appointed to the America in Bloom board of directors, an organization of community beautification organizations nation-wide.
League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Ferrara on his appointment as League of California Cities president. “With an extensive background in public safety and his role as mayor, Ferrara understands that providing important local services while maintaining revenues is essential for all cities. Ferrara’s leadership will continue the League on its strategic path.”  
McKenzie also recognized the dedicated service of Cisneros as League president. “The League experienced several legislative successes and challenges during the past year. José’s leadership helped guide the organization through a number of key issues for California’s cities. We appreciate his attendance in Sacramento and statewide to advance and protect local authority and funding,” said McKenzie.
Outgoing League President and San Francisco Treasurer José Cisneros applauded the incoming president saying, “This is an exciting time for cities and we must continue to work together to preserve the resources we have while we develop new resources and tools to meet the demands of our growing cities. I am confident that Tony Ferrara will be a strong leader for the common interests of California cities and strong local government.”

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials.
© League of California Cities