News Feed
Contact: Eva Spiegel, (916) 658-8228
Dec. 4, 2014


Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael Assumes League of California Cities First Vice Presidency

Sacramento —Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael last Friday became the first vice president of the League of California Cities. He succeeds Scotts Valley Council Member Stephany Aguilar who became League president when former Arroyo Grande Mayor Tony Ferrara was not re-elected last month. The League board of directors also elected Lodi Council Member JoAnne Mounce as second vice president. San Francisco Treasurer José Cisneros remains immediate past president. The League officers will hold their offices until the League’s Annual Conference in fall 2015.   
“I am honored to serve as the first vice president of the League of California Cities. With the Legislature recently sworn in to office, we have an opportunity to invest in strong relationships with both newly elected legislators and those who have been re-elected. As part of the League’s leadership I will be working closely with city officials throughout California in helping shape statewide policies affecting core local government issues. The League is engaged in building partnerships with state and local leaders and creating tools and resources for economic recovery and job growth, which is crucial to the ability of cities to deliver vital services to our residents,” remarked Mayor Michael.
Mayor Michael began his career as a firefighter with the Rancho Cucamonga Fire District in April 1976, promoting through the ranks as engineer, captain, battalion chief and division chief. In 1984, he was appointed fire chief, a positon he held until he retired in 2003. During his career, Michael led the development of the Rancho Cucamonga Fire Protection District, as well as guided the organization through the growth and development of a small town into a city of over 170,000 residents. Upon retirement, Dennis won his seat on the Rancho Cucamonga City Council in November 2004, then elected mayor in 2010 and re-elected in 2014.  
He is actively involved in a number of regional and state boards and committees. Dennis also serves as president of the San Bernardino County Associated Government’s (SANBAG) and is a member of SANBAG's General Policy, Metro Valley and Commuter Rail/Transit committees. 
Dennis has served on the League of California Cities board of directors since 2010 and is the past president of the League’s Inland Empire Division. He received the prestigious Thalman Award in 2013 in recognition of his dedication to advancing the principles of local government.

League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Michael on becoming first vice president for the League of California Cities. “Dennis has been actively involved with the League and its priorities for several years. As an elected official with a background in the fire service, he is no stranger to the importance of protecting services and funding. Building and fostering relationships between state and local officials will continue to be a priority, and Dennis will be instrumental in this process.”  

Established in 1898, the League of California Cities is a nonprofit statewide association that advocates for cities with the state and federal governments and provides education and training services to elected and appointed city officials.
© League of California Cities