Home > News > News Articles > 2015 > October > Mayor L. Dennis Michael of Rancho Cucamonga Takes Helm as League President
News Feed

Mayor L. Dennis Michael of Rancho Cucamonga Takes Helm as League President

October 6, 2015
The League of California Cities’® new executive committee and board of directors took their oath of office on Friday afternoon during the closing general session of its annual conference in San José.
The board represents the League’s 16 regional divisions, nine professional departments, California’s 10 largest cities, and at-large directors. Rancho Cucamonga Mayor L. Dennis Michael assumed the role of League president, replacing Scotts Valley Council Member Stephany Aguilar, who held the position for the past year. Lodi Council Member JoAnne Mounce was elected first vice president and Palos Verdes Estates Mayor James Goodhart joined the officers as second vice president.

Under the League’s bylaws officers serve a one-year term with the outgoing president, Council Member Aguilar becoming immediate past president and participating as an active member of the League’s executive committee. Mayor Michael advanced to his current position after serving the past year as the first vice president and Council Member Mounce became first vice president after serving her past term of second vice president.
Mayor L. Dennis Michael has served on the League of California Cities board of directors since 2010 and is the past president of the League’s Inland Empire Division. He began his career as a firefighter with Rancho Cucamonga Fire District in April 1976, promoting through the ranks as Engineer, Captain, Battalion Chief, and Division Chief. In 1984, he was appointed fire chief and guided the organization through its growth and development as the city grew from a small town to a city of nearly 160,000 residents. After his retirement in 2003, he won a seat on the Rancho Cucamonga City Council in November 2004 and was elected mayor in 2010.  
Mayor Michael was also recently elected president of San Bernardino County Associated Government (SANBAG) and is a member of SANBAG's General Policy, Metro Valley and Commuter Rail/Transit committees. He received the James Thalman Award in 2013 in recognition of his dedication to advancing the principles of local government.
League Executive Director Chris McKenzie congratulated Mayor Michael on his appointment as League of California Cities president. “Dennis brings a long professional history in public service to his League presidency and a commitment to helping shape policies that strengthen California cities. His expertise as a fire fighter and emergency responder will be instrumental as California communities deal with the great challenges brought by the drought and the predicted historic El Niño weather pattern this winter.” 
McKenzie also recognized the dedicated service of Aguilar as League president. “We have had an outstanding president in Stephany Aguilar. She has brought incredible integrity and a wealth of experience to the office and has had a strong presence throughout California in the League’s regional divisions. I congratulate Stephany on all that she has helped our organization accomplish this year.”
As outgoing president, Ms. Aguilar also congratulated Mayor Michael on his new role of president saying, “Dennis cares deeply about California cities and working on behalf of our member cities to ensure that the city voice is heard in Sacramento and Washington, D.C. I leave the League presidency in good hands and look forward to the work Dennis will do in the upcoming year on behalf of our League.”

© League of California Cities