Home > News > News Articles > 2014 > November > The League’s California Civic Leadership Institute® Graduates Celebrate Assembly Seat Wins
News Feed

The League’s California Civic Leadership Institute® Graduates Celebrate Assembly Seat Wins

November 6, 2014
The League is proud to congratulate 11 California Civic Leadership Institute (CCLI) graduates who won their Assembly elections Tuesday.

Congratulations to our graduates:
  • AD 2: Jim Wood, council member, Healdsburg
  • AD 7: Kevin McCarty, council member, Sacramento
  • AD 9: Jim Cooper, council member, Elk Grove
  • AD 15: Tony Thurmond, former council member, Richmond
  • AD 17 David Chiu, supervisor, San Francisco
  • AD 25: Kansen Chu, council member, San Jose
  • AD 28: Evan Low, mayor, Campbell
  • AD 42: Chad Mayes, former council member, Yucca Valley
  • AD 55: Ling-Ling Chang, council member, Diamond Bar
  • AD 56: Eduardo Garcia, mayor, Coachella
  • AD 64: Mike Gipson, council member, Carson 
These new CCLI alumni Assembly members will be featured in Western City magazine in the spring 2015.
The League also congratulates the following CCLI alumni who were reelected on Tuesday to a second term:
  • AD 5: Frank Bigelow (R-O’Neals), former supervisor, Madera County 
  • AD 8: Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), former council member, Rancho Cordova                
  • AD 10: Marc Levine (D-San Rafael), former council member, San Rafael                        
  • AD 11: Jim Frazier (D-Oakley) former mayor, Oakley                       
  • AD 18: Rob Bonta (D-Alameda), former vice mayor, Alameda                                          
  • AD 22: Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco), former mayor, South San Francisco         
  • AD 32: Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield), former council member, Bakersfield                          
  • AD 37: Das Williams (D-Santa Barbara) former council member, Santa Barbara 
  • AD 41: Chris Holden (D-Pasadena), former council member, Pasadena         
  • AD 48: Roger Hernandez (D-West Covina), former mayor, West Covina                              
  • AD 50: Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica), former mayor, Santa Monica                   
The League looks forward to working with these members in the Assembly.
Sen. Alex Padilla (D-Los Angeles), former Assembly Member Fiona Ma (D-San Francisco) and Redlands Mayor Pete Aguilar, all CCLI alumni, also won their elections Tuesday. Sen. Padilla, who served as League president in 2005-06, will be sworn in as the next Secretary of State while former Assembly Member Ma will be sworn into the Board of Equalization to represent District 2. Mayor Aguilar joins the California Congressional Delegation with his election to the U.S. House of Representatives.
About CCLI
CCLI is an educational program designed for local government elected officials who are looking to run for state office. The program is designed to give local elected officials a broad, in-depth understanding of critical issues facing cities and the state, as well as the history and importance of local government in California. CCLI also works to demonstrate tools officials will need to succeed if they progress into the  Legislature. The program also provides the opportunity to develop lasting bonds among our state’s rising leaders.

© League of California Cities