Home > News > News Articles > 2012 > May > League President Appoints Board of Directors Nominating Committee
News Feed

League President Appoints Board of Directors Nominating Committee

Submit Your Nomination for the Board by May 11

May 7, 2012

League President and Mountain View Mayor Mike Kasperzak has appointed the 2012 Board of Directors Nominating Committee.


The committee is charged with the responsibility of nominating League officers and at-large directors. The Nominating Committee representatives are: Katherine Miller, vice mayor, Stockton (chair); JoAnne Mounce, vice mayor, Lodi; Sedalia Sanders, council member, El Centro; Stephany Aguilar, council member, Scotts Valley; Pat Eklund, mayor pro tem, Novato; L. Allan Songstad, Jr., mayor, Laguna Hills; Mark Wheetley, council member, Arcata; Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, council member, Winters; Art Madrid, mayor, La Mesa; Demetrious Shaffer, fire chief, Newark; and Miguel Ucovich, council member, Loomis.

The Nominating Committee will meet on July 19 prior to the July board meeting on July 19 – 20, to interview the 12 finalists for at-large and all second vice president candidates. The committee’s recommendations will be announced during the Opening Session of the League’s Annual Conference & Expo in San Diego in September.

Interested in Serving on the League Board of Directors?

The League of California Cities welcomes nominations from elected officials interested in serving in six at-large position (two-year terms), or second vice president (one-year term). All nominees for second vice president must be currently seated or have previously served on the board of directors.

If you are interested in submitting your name for nomination to the board, please provide all information requested on the nominations form, along with a biography and letters of recommendation by Friday, May 11 at 5 p.m.

Please send all nomination applications to:

Mimi Sharpe
League of California Cities
1400 K Street, Ste. 400
Sacramento, CA 95814

Nomination applications can also be sent via fax to (916) 658-8240 ATTN: Mimi Sharpe or via email to Mimi Sharpe.

© League of California Cities