Home > News > News Articles > 2012 > January > League Policy Committees Convene for First Meeting of 2012
News Feed

League Policy Committees Convene for First Meeting of 2012

January 27, 2012
Last Thursday and Friday, the League's eight standing policy committees met in Sacramento to discuss legislative issues and plan for the coming year. Close to 400 city officials participated in the meetings, which included representatives from the League's professional departments, divisions, caucuses, affiliates, and Partners.

Policy committees help to make League policy by reviewing legislation, suggesting broad new policy guidelines to the board of directors and studying key issues impacting cities. During last week's meetings, each committee reviewed language in the League's Summary of Existing Policy and Guiding Principles, which will be updated this year. The Summary of Existing Policy and Guiding Principles is the guiding document for the League's legislative team.

Prior to each committee meeting, city officials were briefed on a variety of issues of statewide importance. League Executive Director Chris McKenzie and California Redevelopment Association Interim Director Jim Kennedy provided background and outlined next steps related to the looming redevelopment dissolution deadline and SB 659 (Padilla), which seeks to postpone the redevelopment dissolution deadline until April 15. City officials were also encouraged to join the Coalition for Jobs and Neighborhood Renewal. McKenzie also updated committee members on the status the League's lawsuit regarding the sweep of $130 million dollars in constitutionally protected vehicle license fees through SB 89.

League Fiscal Policy Advisor Michael Coleman provided a summary of Gov. Jerry Brown's proposed FY 2012-13 budget, while League Legislative Representative Jennifer Whiting gave an overview of federal issues including FY 2013 appropriations, the eighth reauthorization of SAFETEA-LU, and efforts to limit local taxation authority over mobile phones.

Policy Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs

The following city officials have been appointed as chair or vice chair for 2012. For a full roster of policy committee members please visit the League's website.

Committee Chair Vice Chair
Administrative Services Karen Spiegel, council member, Corona Mark Brown, council member, Truckee
Community Services Joe Carchio, council member, Huntington Beach Bruce Roundy, council member, Orland
Employee Relations Bob Johnson, mayor, Lodi Micheál O'Leary, mayor, Culver City
Environmental Quality Owen Newcomer, council member, Whittier Chuck Page, vice mayor, Saratoga
Housing, Community, and Economic Development Scott Nassif, council member, Apple Valley Victor Gomez, council member, Hollister
Public Safety Jan Arbuckle, mayor, Grass Valley Alan Wapner, council member, Ontario
Revenue and Taxation Jose Cisneros, treasurer, San Francisco Cheryl Cox, mayor, Chula Vista
Transportation, Communication and Public Works Tom Glancy, council member, Thousand Oaks Mike Hudson, mayor pro tem, Suisun

© League of California Cities